Nominations for the 2023 Taite Music Prize Are Now Open

Impartial Music NZ (IMNZ) has introduced that nominations for the 2023 Taite Music Prize are actually open.

Celebrating one of the best Aotearoa music and the voices that champion them, subsequent 12 months’s thirteenth version will characteristic three awards: the coveted Taite Music Prize, the Auckland Stay Finest Impartial Debut Award and the NZ On Air Excellent Music Journalism Award.

Any native album launched throughout the calendar 12 months of 2022 is eligible for nomination, with the winner receiving a money prize of $12,500.

Final 12 months the Taite Music Prize went to singer-songwriter Anthonie Tonnon for his third album Depart Out Of This, with earlier winners together with Avantdale Bowling Membership, Ladi6 and Lorde.

The Auckland Stay Finest Impartial Debut Award, in the meantime, is open to debut albums or EPs totalling not less than 4 tracks with a length of greater than 20 minutes, launched by IMNZ members within the earlier 12 months. The winner of the award receives a $2,000 money prize along with a efficiency ups killing alternative.

The NZ On Air Excellent Music Journalism Award solely debuted final 12 months, changing into the primary award of its sort within the nation. RNZ Music journalist Tony Stamp was the inaugural recipient of the award due to his Longford music documentaries and options.

The award comes with a $2,500 money prize and is open to nominations from native journalists, bloggers or editors who’ve made a artistic contribution in protection of Aotearoa music within the earlier calendar 12 months.

The Taite Music Prize ceremony additionally contains the Impartial Music NZ Basic Document presentation, given to a seminal Aotearoa document launched over 20 years in the past on an unbiased label. Earlier winners embrace Patea Māori Membership (Poi E), The Clear (Boodle Boodle Boodle) and Higher Hutt Posse (E Tū).

Subsequent 12 months will see the awards return to their conventional late April date, simply earlier than NZ Music Month in Might, with the Tāmaki Makaurau’s Q Theatre as soon as once more internet hosting the ceremony.

“2022 has been one other extraordinary 12 months for Aotearoa’s unbiased musicians, with robust illustration in launched music, awards and touring. This 12 months’s judging panel could have a really powerful time deciding who will take dwelling our coveted Taite Music Prize trophy,” IMNZ Chairperson, Pippa Ryan-Kidd, says.

Voting is now open here. Nominations shut on Wednesday, February 1st at 5pm NZDT.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *